The retailer taking over Jolly’s in Milsom Street in Bath is seeking permission to erect nine flags to promote the business.

Jolly’s on Milsom Street under scaffolding
Morleys Stores Ltd has applied for planning and listed building consent from Bath & North East Somerset Council to put up the flags at the front of the historic store which stretches from 7 to 14 Milsom Street.
The Grade II listed building is owned by the council, which is currently carrying out extensive restoration and repair work.
Jolly and Son opened their ‘Bath Emporium’ at 12 Milsom Street in 1831 and the business expanded over the years, joining together eight terraced buildings.
Jolly’s was bought by House of Fraser in the 1970s and taken over by Mike Ashley’s Frasers Group six years ago.
Following the store’s closure in February of this year, Morleys Stores and Bath & North East Somerset announced plans in March to reopen Jolly’s, preserving the iconic name and restoring the store to its former glory.
Morleys propose to reinstate the nine flags on the façade on flagpoles similar to those erected and then subsequently removed by House of Fraser.
Each white fibreglass flagpole will be 3.2 metres long, fixed to a galvanised steel bracket and capped with a gold finial.
Each flagpole will display a 1.37 metre wide by 2.63 metre high flag in an aubergine colour, to match the painted storefront, and printed with the traditional ‘Jolly’s’ logo on the lower third of the flag and ‘Est 1831’ in a smaller font below.
The planning reference is 25/03021/FUL. The deadline for comments is 12th September.



